Dark Pools, Flash Orders, High Frequency Trading, and Other Market Structure Issues

Securities, Insurance, and Investment

Wednesday, October 28, 2009
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
538 Dirksen Senate Office Building

[view archive webcast]

The witness on Panel I will be: The Honorable Edward Kaufman, United States Senator. The witnesses on Panel II will be: James A. Brigagliano, Esq., Co-Acting Director of the Division of Trading and Markets, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; Dr. Frank Hatheway, Senior Vice President and Chief Economist, NASDAQ OMX; William O'Brien, Esq., Chief Executive Officer, Direct Edge; Mr. Christopher Nagy, Managing Director of Order Routing Sales & Strategy, Ameritrade; Mr. Daniel Mathisson, Managing Director and Head of Advanced Execution Services, Credit Suisse; Mr. Robert C. Gasser, President and Chief Executive Officer, Investment Technology Group; Mr. Peter Driscoll, Chairman, Security Traders Association; and Mr. Adam C. Sussman, Director of Research, TABB Group.

Individuals with disabilities who require an auxiliary aid or service, including closed captioning service for webcast hearings, should contact the committee clerk at 202-224-7391 at least three business days in advance of the hearing date.

Minority Statements


Panel 1

Panel 2

  • James A. Brigagliano, Esq. [view testimony]
    Co-Acting Director of the Division of Trading and Markets
    U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Mr. Frank Hatheway [view testimony]
    Senior Vice President and Chief Economist
  • William O'Brien, Esq. [view testimony]
    Chief Executive Officer
    Direct Edge
  • Mr. Christopher Nagy [view testimony]
    Managing Director of Order Routing Sales & Strategy
  • Mr. Dan Mathisson [view testimony]
    Head of U.S. Equity Trading
    Credit Suisse Securities LLC
  • Mr. Robert C. Gasser [view testimony]
    Chief Executive Officer and President
    Investment Technology Group
  • Mr. Peter Driscoll [view testimony]
    Security Traders Association
  • Mr. Adam C. Sussman [view testimony]
    Director of Research
    TABB Group