Full Committee Hearing

Examining the Federal Role in Overseeing the Safety of Public Transportation Systems

Date:   Thursday, December 10, 2009 Time:   09:30 AM

Open in New Window


The witness on Panel I will be: The Honorable Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), United States Senator. The witness on Panel II will be: The Honorable Ray LaHood, Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation. The witnesses on Panel III will be: Mr. John B. Catoe, Jr., General Manager, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority; Mr. David Wise, Director of the Physical Infrastructure Team, U.S. Government Accountability Office; Mr. Brian Cristy, Director of Transportation Oversight Division, Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities; and Mr. William W. Millar, President, American Public Transportation Association. Additional witnesses will be announced at a later date. Individuals with disabilities who require an auxiliary aid or service, including closed captioning service for webcast hearings, should contact the committee clerk at 202-224-7391 at least three business days in advance of the hearing date.


Witness Panel 1

  1. Honorable Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
    United States Senator

Witness Panel 2

  1. Honorable Ray LaHood
    U.S. Department of Transportation

Witness Panel 3

  1. Mr. John B. Catoe, Jr.
    General Manager
    Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority
  2. Mr. Brian Cristy
    Director of Transportation Oversight Division
    Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities
  3. Mr. William W. Millar
    American Public Transportation Association
  4. Mr. David Wise
    Director of the Physical Infrastructure Team
    U.S. Government Accountability Office