Full Committee Hearing

Review of the National Bank Preemption Rules

Date:   Wednesday, April 7, 2004 Time:   02:00 PM

Open in New Window


The Committee will meet in OPEN SESSION to conduct a hearing on “The Review of the National Bank Preemption Rules.”


Witness Panel 1

  1. Honorable Roy Cooper
    Attorney General
    State of North Carolina
  2. Mr. Gavin M. Gee
    Director of Finance
    Idaho Department of Finance
  3. Honorable John D. Hawke, Jr.
    Comptroller of the Currency
    United States Treasury

Witness Panel 2

  1. Mr. Joe Belew
    Consumer Bankers Association
  2. Mr. Martin Eakes
    Chief Executive Officer
    Self-Help Credit Union and the Center for Responsibe Lending
  3. Mr. William M. Isaac
    Former Chairman of the FDIC and Chairman
    The Secura Group
  4. Mr. Walt McDonald
    National Association of Realtors
  5. Mr. James McLaughlin
    Director, Regulatory and Trust Affairs
    American Bankers Association
  6. Mr. Art Wilmarth
    Professor of Law
    George Washington University Law Center