March 16, 2022

Brown Moves Fed and FHFA Nominees

Today, U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Chairman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs, held an executive session to vote on the nominations of: The Honorable Jerome H. Powell for Chairman of the Federal Reserve; The Honorable Lael Brainard for Vice Chair of the Federal Reserve; Dr. Lisa DeNell Cook and Dr. Philip Jefferson for Governors of the Federal Reserve; and Ms. Sandra Thompson for Director of the Federal Housing Finance Agency. 

Ms. Sandra Thompson was advanced by a vote of 13-11.

The Honorable Jerome H. Powell was advanced by a vote of 23-1.

The Honorable Lael Brainard was advanced by a vote of 16-8.

Dr. Philip Jefferson was advanced by a vote of 24-0.

Dr. Lisa Cook’s nomination was tied; she will be considered by the full Senate in accordance with Senate Resolution 27.

Video of the markup can be found here.