September 08, 2011


WASHINGTON – Today, Senate Banking Committee Chairman Tim Johnson (D-SD) held a Committee markup of the nominations of Mr. Anthony Frank D’Agostino and Mr. Gregory Karawan to be Directors of the Securities Investor Protection Corporation; the Honorable Luis Aguilar and Mr. Daniel Gallagher to be Members of the Securities and Exchange Commission; Mr. S. Roy Woodall, Jr. to be a Member of the Financial Stability Oversight Council; the Honorable Martin Gruenberg to be a Member and Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; and the Honorable Thomas Curry to be Comptroller of the Currency.
The Committee approved all the nominees with bipartisan support by unanimous voice vote, and their nominations will now be sent to the floor for consideration by the full Senate.  Below is Chairman Johnson’s statement following the markup. 
“Today the Banking Committee approved a slate of seven nominees for important positions at our financial regulators. These are exactly the kind of well-qualified individuals we need in place as we work toward a robust economic recovery. I appreciate the bipartisan support of all my colleagues on the Committee in moving these nominees forward. The stability of our financial system, and of the economy, is vital, so I hope they will receive the same bipartisan support on the Senate Floor.”