July 31, 2014


WASHINGTON - Senate Banking Committee Chairman Tim Johnson (D-SD) today released the following statement on the introduction of the Export-Import Bank Reauthorization. Yesterday evening, Chairman Johnson along with Senators Joe Manchin (D-WV), Mark Kirk (R-IL), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Joe Donnelly (D-IN), Mark Warner (D-VA), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), and Tim Kaine (D-VA) introduced a 5-year reauthorization of the Bank.

“As Chairman of the Banking Committee, I am proud to have come together with a bipartisan group of my colleagues to reauthorize the Export-Import Bank. I appreciate Senator Manchin’s leadership on this issue as the Chairman of the Banking Subcommittee on National Security and International Trade and Finance, and Senator Kirk’s work as the Subcommittee’s ranking member. Additionally, I want to thank Senator Cantwell for her advocacy.

“The Export-Import Bank is important to small businesses and exporters in South Dakota and across America. It is clear there is bipartisan support for this in the Senate, and it is my continued hope that Congress can get this 5-year reauthorization passed before the Bank’s charter expires at the end of September.”